Earlier this week I proposed a challenge to the women in my small group; find a Bible verse containing a truth, promise, or command, and spend some time meditating on how your life would be different if you actually lived like that verse was true. I challenged them to come up with practical ways that they can practice living that verse out throughout the week; taking God at His word and stepping out in faith that He means what He says. As a leader, I’m learning that you better not ask anything of your group that you’re not prepared to do yourself!

Due to the particular season of life that I’m in, I chose Joshua 1:9 as my verse for the week, and wrote it out on my whiteboard;

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go. (Joshua 1:9, NIV)

Below it I wrote a few general things that came to mind pertaining to the application of this verse to my life. A few of the things I wrote were “I will take action on the things God has put it on my heart to do, despite my inadequacies” and “I will willingly put myself out there in uncomfortable ways and step into unknown territory because God is with me.” Then I took a picture of it and posted it on my groups Facebook page; a dangerous thing to do because now the rubber meets the road!

As I was praying about this verse and how I could apply it to my own life, God reminded me of something He has been putting on my heart for a while now; writing a blog. As in a lot of areas of my life, I’m full of excuses for why I shouldn’t do it; “I’m not a writer” or “no one cares about what I have to say” or “I don’t know the first thing about writing a blog,” and the list could go on and on… all fueled by my insecurities and fears… insecurities and fears that are in direct conflict with what the Word of God tells me.

So I have a choice to make; I can let my fears and insecurities hold me back, or I can choose to believe what my Creator says.

Personally, I don’t believe that very many things in this life are a coincidence… So I definitely don’t believe it was a coincidence that after spending some time meditating on the verse from Joshua, I moved on to my normal daily Bible reading and picked up in Exodus 3; the story of Moses and the burning bush.

Moses answered God, “But why me? What makes you think that I could ever go to Pharaoh and lead the children of Israel out of Egypt?” “I’ll be with you,” God said. (Exodus 3:11-12a, MSG)

I can certainly relate to Moses in this exchange, as he echoes the very questions I raise when God calls me to do something; “why me?” and “who am I to…?” But something stood out to me about God’s response to Moses; He doesn’t give a list of reasons why Moses is good enough, and He doesn’t give Moses a motivational speech about finding his inner strength. God’s response is simple, and we see it all throughout scripture; “I’ll be with you.”

Too often when I’m faced with a challenge I look to myself; my abilities, my talents, my strength… and when I do, I’m always left standing face to face with my inadequacies, my weaknesses and my fears. But the thing is, I was never meant to look to myself, I was meant to look to God! I was meant to believe that I can do what God calls me to do, not because of who I am, but because of who He is!

So like I said, this is where the rubber meets the road. It’s one thing to talk about it and to quote verses like Philippians 4:13 “I can do all things through him who strengthens me.”  It’s a completely different thing to live it out; because living it out means making the choice to step out in faith and actually do something with it… something like writing your first blog post.

One thought on “Who Do I Believe?

  1. Thanks Melanie for sharing your heart! Walking in faith is always taking a risk, doing what he puts on my heart and trusting the results to Him. Your blog was an encouragement to me. Be encouraged and keep on taking the risk.

    Like

Leave a Reply

